Topamax

By Kelie.H Added at August 10, 2010 Views 2,595 Reviews 11

Topamax (topiramate) is used to prevent seizures in adults and children and to prevent migraine headaches.

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (11 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
de3sgirl
de3sgirl July 7, 2016 at 8:12 am   

I was prescribed topamax for about 2 years. It was working. But apparently you are supposed to have your kidney and liver function tested every so often while on this medication. Well mine was tested when first prescribed. But not again till another MD in the saw my chart and realized I had been on it 2 years and no blood test done. Well it apparently had a bad affect on my kidneys, and or liver. Because after having a bunch of test run I was immediately taken off the medication. It did help though while I was on it

juliel72
juliel72 July 22, 2014 at 2:32 pm   

This is the only medicine that gave me any relief from my migraines…it has to build up in your system but after that happens, it just about stopped all of my migraines…

dks10
dks10 August 8, 2013 at 7:49 am   

Seems like I have a few less migraines taking the Topamax, but I also have nightmares and have even got up in the middle of the night and walked into my dresser. Bruised myself up pretty good. I'm still taking it, but I'm not crazy about it.

Nana4jb
Nana4jb January 1, 2013 at 10:31 pm   

I've been on this drug for over 7 years now and it saved my sanity. When I started I was having a migraine almost every day. Not long aFter, it was a couple a month. The generic doesn't work for me so I need to stay with the brand name. Unfortunately, I started getting really bad brain fog a few months ago (a side effect) and my neurologist reduced my dosage from 100 mg to 50 mg. Getting a few more migraines but still livable. Don't know what I would have done without this drug.

meganrene
meganrene January 3, 2012 at 12:01 pm   

I couldn't stand the pins & needles feeling in my arms. I already seem to have poor circulation & this medication just made it too much worse.

snwbird
snwbird September 7, 2011 at 10:53 am   

I've been on this yrs ago and it didn't do anything to help me with my migraines. I've suffered since I was 16 and still do 30 yrs later. I've tried many different meds to no avail they'll work for maybe a couple months and then it's like my system becomes immune to them. Right now the only thing that helps me is a demerol injection or a higher drug injection. I hate it because I just can't function normally and after these injections I miss 1 or more days of work. Good luck KLG1985, hope they find something that works for you soon.

KLG1985
KLG1985 June 7, 2011 at 11:21 pm   

I have been on this for about 2 months now. At first it seemed to be helping somewhat but then about 2 weeks into it, the migraines started again. My doctor started me on 25 mg and now I am up to 100 mg a day. Still getting migraines. Currently on day 3 of this round of migraines.

Teri25
Teri25 December 12, 2010 at 3:52 pm   

I have been taking Topamax for quit some time and i haven't really had any side effects other then feeling funny after taking and i cant drive due to the funny feeling and feeling light headed and dizzy a little.

JAVAQUEEN2000
JAVAQUEEN2000 December 10, 2010 at 8:12 am   

What can I say this is a miricle drug for me. I have suffered cronic cluster migraines for over 25 years. I have been on Topamax for 9 years, and yes I have had to increase the dose severla times. But I love this medication. For the first time iin my life I don't suffer the pain and suffering that can debilitate me.

I went throught the pins and needles, the drink feeling and light headedness, the side effects wore off in 3 months. Yes I said 3 months for the side effects to go away. My doctor was vigilant and proactive in my daily use. When we realized I would have to take such a high dose. He became conserned and started to check my bliid every month. After a year of relief. He started check me every 3 month.

To date No headaches. Yea baby!

juliel72
juliel72 November 1, 2010 at 9:14 pm   

Just wanted to add my "2 cents" about Topamax…
This was an absolute life saver for me. I have been taking it for quite sometime now , about 1 year this time, had been on a break for the past 2 1/2 years from it. The side effects got to be too troublesome for me at one point so my neurologist took me off the medication and my primary care physcian started me back on it just over a year ago.

I have not expericenced the side effects as of yet, thank goodness! The "pins and needles" feeling in my hands were terrible. I had tremors in my hands too. And my word recall use to be horrible, and even now I am starting to notice some word recall issues…it is more aggravating than anything else.

I would say overall that this medication is worth the side effects because my migraines were so dibilitating. I had to stay in bed for days at a time and nothing helped, not any of the triptans, no narcotics, nothing helped! I just had to wait it out most of the time and my migraines usually lasted 2 days…miserable!

But now I am back on Topamax and a really low dose, have lost lots of weight, have very few migraines and actually have been migraine free for about 14 weeks now…but I know it is just one day at a time.

Kelie.H
Kelie.H August 10, 2010 at 10:06 am   
Pros

Works well for long-term control and prevention of severe migraines. Can cause marked weight loss.

Cons

Must be taken daily. Side effects can be troublesome including what I experience as "pins and needles" in the hands and feet and sometimes face, and word-recall issues. Doesn't help if you already have a migraine, this drug is only used for prevention.